Virtual Open Morning

If you have any technical issues during the Virtual Open Morning, please contact our PR and Communications department using publicity@purcell-school.org or by calling 01923 331 114.

Accessing Zoom Sessions

Join a Zoom Meeting https://zoom.us/join

10.45am - Zoom session with Charles Sewart, Head of Strings
Meeting ID: 828 600 6785
Password: 352511

11.00am - Zoom session with William Fong, Head of Keyboard
Meeting ID: 761 2596 1473
Password: 9c9VDV

11.15am - Zoom session with Joy Farrall, Head of Woodwind
Meeting ID: 995 646 5438
Password: 336831

11.30am - Zoom session with Simon Allen, Head of Jazz
Meeting ID: 786 9561 5933
Password: 7dpLUW

11.45am - Zoom session with Alison Cox, Head of Composition
Meeting ID: 872 4059 3634
Password: 623180

12.00pm - Zoom session with Paul Hoskins, Head of Brass, Harp, Percussion & Voice
Meeting ID: 238 253 3447
Password: ac6fwv

12.30pm - Zoom session with Principal and Director of Music
Meeting ID: 238 253 3447
Password: ac6fwv

Additional Resources

 

Loading

Loading

Loading

 

Recent Purcell Publications

How to Apply

To be considered for a place at The Purcell School, you must first apply. Applications are considered as they come in, and there are many advantages in applying early in the process. Candidates are assessed in relation to their age and potential at time of audition, so there is no advantage in waiting to audition later in the year.

Please direct any queries about the application process to the School Registrar, Ms Karen Eldridge on k.eldridge@purcell-school.org or 01923 331107.

Application Form

All candidates must complete the School’s application form. This is available as a downloadable PDF or as an interactive PDF. Applications can be received by post or email.

The completed Application Form should be returned together with:
  1. A non-returnable application fee of £35 paid by cheque or online - click here to pay online
  2. A written recommendation from the applicant’s music teacher(s)
  3. For instrumentalists: evidence of a recent performance, be this in the form of a YouTube link or similar. The recording should contain two contrasting pieces on the first instrument, at least one of which should be accompanied (except in the case of piano, organ, harp, percussion or guitar), and one piece on any supporting instrument. For first study pianists, the audition repertoire should be performed from memory.
  4. For composers: three compositions of any genre, style or length, one of which should be written out by hand (ideally we would also like one of the pieces to be recorded, however we are happy to waive this for younger applicants)
  5. A recent passport-style photograph of the applicant

to The Purcell School by post to Ms Karen Eldridge, The Registrar, The Purcell School, Aldenham Road, Bushey, Hertfordshire WD23 2TS, or by email to k.eldridge@purcell-school.org.

 
For families in serious financial difficulty for whom the application and/or audition fee would prevent them applying, please contact the Registrar for a conversation about how the School can help
 
Please note, if using Google Chrome to complete the application form:

  • Fill out your PDF. Click a text field in the PDF and type in your answer, then repeat with the PDF's other text fields until you've filled out the whole PDF
  • In the top right corner, there will be a 'Print' button (or use Ctrl+P)
  • Once the 'print' pop up window has appeared, change the printing 'Destination' to 'Save as PDF'

Please note, to fill in the Application Form online using a browser, please use Chrome or Internet Explorer (not Safari)

Contact Information

 

Head of String Department: Charles Sewart c.sewart@purcell-school.org
Head of Keyboard Department: William Fong w.fong@purcell-school.org
Head of Woodwind Department: Joy Farrall j.farrall@purcell-school.org
Head of Jazz Department: Simon Allen s.allen@purcell-school.org
Head of Composition Department: Alison Cox a.cox@purcell-school.org
Head of Brass, Perc, Harp & Voice: Paul Hoskins p.hoskins@purcell-school.org
Principal: Paul Bambrough principal@purcell-school.org
Director of Music: Paul Hoskins p.hoskins@purcell-school.org
Head of 6th Form & DSL: Ziggi Szafranski z.szafranski@purcell-school.org
Head of Boarding: Jane Malan j.malan@purcell-school.org
Senior Houseparent: Rachel Tagoe r.tagoe@purcell-school.org
Bursar: Adam Wroblewski a.wroblewski@purcell-school.org
Finance Manager: Sue Pickard s.pickard@purcell-school.org
Registrar: Karen Eldridge k.eldridge@purcell-school.org

 

If you have any technical issues during the Virtual Open Morning, please contact our PR and Communications department using publicity@purcell-school.org or by calling 01923 331 114.

 

In this section

Fees

The Purcell School is committed to providing the best education available to talented musicians, regardless of financial means.  We are able to do this with the support of the Government and a selection of trusts and private sponsors.

The School offers financial assistance with fees in the following ways:
 

MDS Scheme

Means-tested bursaries are available via the Department for Education’s Music and Dance Scheme. In order to be eligible for the Scheme in September 2021, the student must have been resident in the UK from 1st January 2019 to 31 December 2020. For more information contact our Finance Manager.
 

School Bursaries

Students who are not eligible for the Music and Dance Scheme may apply for assistance from the School’s Bursary fund. Funding is based on need and parents are required to declare their financial circumstances for consideration by the School’s Bursary Committee.

Parents of prospective students are welcome to discuss their individual circumstances with the School. Enquiries should be directed in the first instance to the Finance Manager on finance@purcell-school.org and 01923 331106.